An official photo of Dr. Marvin D. Mills.

Murray State remembers legacy of Dr. Marvin D. Mills, Sr.

MURRAY, Ky. — Every institution has its heroes — the individuals whose legacies are carved into the very foundation. At Murray State University and in the greater community, Dr. Marvin D. Mills, Sr., was just that: a hero with an enduring legacy. A portrait of Mills currently hangs in the Multicultural Center on campus that is named for […]

read more
Two people hug in the middle of a larger group of people standing on the campus mall at Murray State.

Murray State honors Bailey Holt with memorial scholarship

MURRAY, Ky. — The School of Nursing and Health Professions at Murray State University partnered with the Kentucky Nurses Association in creating the Bailey Holt Memorial Nursing Scholarship. The scholarship honors Holt, one of two Marshall County High School students who lost their lives during the tragic events at the high school in January 2018.

read more
An official headshot of Brian Canerdy standing in front of a Murray State backdrop.

Murray State names Canerdy as new director of development for Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business and University Special Projects

MURRAY, Ky. — Murray State University named Brian Canerdy as the new director of development for the Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business and for University Special Projects. In this role, Canerdy will coordinate and facilitate fundraising efforts in scholarship endowment and other key initiative areas. “Brian will do a great job serving as our newest director in […]

read more
An official headshot of Andrew Maraniss.

Murray State to host Andrew Maraniss for second annual Easley Lecture

MURRAY, Ky. — The history department at Murray State University will host the annual Easley Lecture on Tuesday, Sept. 25, at 7 p.m. in the Curris Center Grand Ballroom with Andrew Maraniss serving as the event’s keynote speaker. The public lecture series, now in its second year, aims to provide the community with opportunities to hear unique perspectives […]

read more
Pictured (from left to right) are Dr. Robin Zhang, chair for the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences; Jennie Rottinghaus, director of development for the Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology; Dr. George Kipphut, professor emeritus and former department chair; and Dr. Claire Fuller, interim dean of the Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology.

Professor emeritus creates Murray State scholarship for earth and environmental sciences students

MURRAY, Ky. — Dr. George Kipphut of Murray established and endowed an annual scholarship at Murray State University to benefit students preparing for careers in the field of earth and environmental sciences. The Alice and George Kipphut Sr. Scholarship in Earth and Environmental Sciences supports junior and senior students pursuing degrees in the University’s Department of Earth and […]

read more

Dr. Robert Jackson Appointed Interim President of Murray State University

MURRAY, Ky. — The Murray State University Board of Regents has named Dr. Robert Jackson interim president, effective August 16. A 1985 graduate of Murray State University, Jackson currently serves as the president of the MSU Foundation. “We are grateful that Bob has agreed to step in as the interim president. We are confident that […]

read more
Dr. Michael Flinn (center), associate professor and interim chair of the Department of Biological Sciences at Murray State, receives the University’s Neil Weber Award for Excellence from Dr. Steve Cobb (left) and Dr. Neil Weber (right), former deans of the Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology.

Murray State University Information: Week of July 30–Aug. 3

MURRAY, Ky. — Below is information regarding recent news, notes and accomplishments from Murray State University for the week of July 30–Aug. 3 ** Dr. Rachel Whittaker, assistant professor of chemistry at Murray State, has been selected to receive the 2018–19 Karl F. Hussung Professorship in Chemistry Award in the Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and […]

read more
An official photo of Shirley Trail Lanier.

Murray State alumna creates scholarship for returning adult students at Paducah campus

MURRAY, Ky. — Shirley Trail Lanier established an annual scholarship at Murray State University to benefit students pursuing a Bachelor of Integrated Studies degree at the University’s regional campus in Paducah. The Shirley Trail Lanier Scholarship consists of $1,000 to be awarded annually to students pursuing integrated studies degrees on Murray State’s Paducah campus. Preference will be given […]

read more
An official portrait of Bill and Louise Hatley.

Major estate gift from Bill and Louise Hatley benefits Murray State

MURRAY, Ky. — The Murray State University Foundation will receive one of its largest single scholarship endowment gifts for the benefit of Murray State University students from the Bill and Louise Hatley Estate of Providence. This estate gift of nearly $3 million will establish an endowment for student scholarships in engineering technology and technical education programs. “For many […]

read more
Members of the University stand with Bob Turok.

Murray State receives final installment of $1 million gift from BB&T Bank

MURRAY, Ky. — Murray State University has received the final installment of a $1 million gift from BB&T Bank to support the University’s Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business. The generous contribution, which was made payable over the past 10 years in $100,000 annual installments, has been stewarded to encourage the understanding and application of moral capitalism […]

read more
Pages 1 of 10