MURRAY, Ky. — Murray State University celebrated Spring 2019 Commencement on Saturday, May 11, in the CFSB Center with a pair of ceremonies. The first included degree candidates from the Bauernfeind College of Business, College of Humanities and Fine Arts and Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology. The second included degree candidates from the College of Education and Human Services, Hutson School of Agriculture, School of Nursing and Health Professions and Center for Adult and Regional Education.

A total of 1,406 degree applicants made up the two ceremonies — including doctoral, specialist, master’s, baccalaureate and associate degrees — with 31 states and 19 countries represented among May and August 2019 graduates.

Murray State University President Dr. Bob Jackson presided over the ceremonies. He, along with Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Mark Arant, administered the conferring of degrees.

“Leave here motivated and inspired today,” Jackson said. “You have a new responsibility to lead and work hard. Go out and make a difference in the world…be passionate about your calling no matter what it is, and remember to always give back.”

The outstanding seniors for spring 2019, Morgan Pulliam and J.T. Payne, led the degree candidates for the conferral of degrees. Pulliam provided the morning ceremony valediction; she graduated with the honors medallion and a Bachelor of Arts degree in business. Payne delivered the valediction at the afternoon ceremony while receiving a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture with an agricultural education track.

Also featured during each ceremony was the Presentation of Colors by the Murray State University Army ROTC Color Guard, while Distinguished Professor Stephen Lacewell, professor of finance in the Department of Economics and Finance, served as the mace-bearer.

Murray State faculty in attendance were led into the arena for both ceremonies by the recipients of the Regents Teaching Award for Excellence: Crystal Coel (also the Max Carman Teaching Excellence Recipient), Katherine Hancock, Michael Bordieri, Aaron Irvin, Yousif Abulhassan, Michelle Casey, Kathy Stanczyk and Jeffrey Henry. They were joined by the University Distinguished Mentor Daniel Wann, Distinguished Researcher Alexey Arkov, University Emerging Scholars Danielle Muzina and Bikram Subedi and Faculty Advisor of the Year Patty Parish.

Faculty marshals assisting with the overall ceremonies included Susana Bloomdahl, Traci Byrd, Heath Keller, Michael Kemp, Robert Lyons, Melony Shemberger, Matthew Shultz and F. Gilland Welsch.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email