MURRAY, Ky. — Three Murray State University Small Business Development Center (SBDC) clients have received state-level recognition as a 2019 Pacesetter Award recipient.

The Pacesetter Business Recognition Program celebrates high-performing small businesses that are producing innovative products, increasing sales, creating jobs and investing in communities. The Kentucky SBDC Pacesetter awardees contribute to the health of the Kentucky economy and communities across the commonwealth.

“It is a tremendous honor for the SBDC program to be a part of the wonderful work these entrepreneurs are doing in western Kentucky communities,” said Chris Wooldridge, Murray State SBDC district director.

The three award-winning businesses are Freight House, Paws Town, LLC and J-Mack BBQ.

Freight House is a farm-to-table style restaurant in Paducah, Kentucky, dedicated to providing the local community with delicious dinners, drinks and desserts with locally-sourced ingredients. Head chef and owner Sara Bradley was a runner-up on the televised cooking competition show “Top Chef.” Bradley’s passion for sustainable agriculture, community and food have changed the way Paducah residents think about food.

Paws Town, LLC, in Owensboro, Kentucky, is a safe and fun place for four-legged family members to stay and play. Services provided include boarding, daycare and grooming. Opening in June of 2018, Paws Town has experienced exceptional growth. The company has grown from five to twelve employees to keep pace with the demand for services. The business opened with a mission to give back to their community. On their grand opening day, they held a silent auction for a local animal rescue organization. Paws Town has continued this trend by participating in national campaigns and local silent auctions alike.

J-Mack BBQ is a family-owned barbecue restaurant in Gilbertsville, Kentucky. Kansas City BBQ Contest winners Jay and Michelle Tapscott opened the restaurant in 2015 and have grown the business consistently for the last four years. The Tapscotts’ commitment to their business and community earned them the title of Kentucky Small Business Association Rural Small Business of the Year.

The Murray State SBDC is a member of the Kentucky SBDC network, with 12 offices throughout the state offering no-cost consulting and low-cost training opportunities.

The three awardees will be recognized on May 8 at the Capitol Rotunda in Frankfort, along with other entrepreneurs and advocates across the commonwealth.

Photo: Three of Murray State University’s Small Business Development Center’s (SBDC) clients received state-level recognition as a 2019 Pacesetter Award recipient.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email