MURRAY, Ky. —  Murray State University’s chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi inducted 88 new members during a ceremony held April 16 in the Wrather Museum auditorium on campus.

Phi Kappa Phi is the highest academic honor society at Murray State. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify.

New student members are:

Autumn Grace Anderson

Christian Barefield

Melissa Bergmann

Alanna Bethel

Kaitlynne Bolinger

Madison E. Booth

Abigail L. Breite

Katelyn Brinkmann

Lauren E. Brown

Logan A. Brown

Megan Burleson

Courtney Amanda Caudell

William W. Clayton II

Hoai Thi Dang

Hannah Dengler

Michelle Deterding

Angelia Gregson Dotson

Meike H. Drewell

Madelyn E. Eisele

Elizabeth Marie Erwin

Mohammed Eshki

Emily Eubank

Clare Froehlich

Alexandria Fry

Sarah Garner

Haley Gassel

Ryan Douglas Goke

Emily Green

Jennifer E. Greve

Amy Lynn Hale

Kristen E. Hale

Wilda Trent Harrison

Cody Hayden

Jodi Henon

Jared Hill

Rebekah Shae Hogancamp

Nicholas Jackson

Deanese Jameson

Ariana Jen

Tara S. Jenneman

Moranda Johns

Randall Joyce

David Michael Kesler

J. Eve Kotter

Allyson Paige Ladd

Nicole Lowery

Allison Lyman

Bailey Elizabeth Lyman

Pamela R. Manning-Hamilton

Rachel McDonald

Aaron Meyers

Christy Millay

Tracy Downs Miller

Lexie Olivia Mills

Sydney Claire Montgomery

Patrick S. Newton

Alyssa Otten

Brendan R. Parker

Kelsey D. Patterson

Jessica Pryor

Dr. Melissa F. Quertermous

Matt Robbe

Ashley Robert

Braylon E. Rose

Jordyn Rowland

Evelyn M. Sanfiel

Alyssa Schortinghouse

Hannah Simmons

Matthew Skinner

Kearby Stiles

Andrea L. Stith

Allison Sweeney

Brittany Terry

Cao Xuan Thang

Shelby Rae Todd

Hannah Grace Travus

Vincent E. Turner

Noah Vallette

Casey Vandenbark

Patrick Wadlington

Chelsea R. Walker

David Wallace

Hannah Whittom

Ashlyn Willett

Elizabeth Megan Wilson

LorryBeth Wilson

Dominique Wood

Colton A. Woodward

Officers for the 2018-19 academic year are Dr. William H. Mulligan Jr., president; Dr. Melony Shemberger, vice president; Dr. Miranda Terry, secretary; Dr. Renee Fister, treasurer; Dinesh Kumaraswamy, Emeline Ojeda, Anthony Prewitt and Amanda Sadler, student vice presidents; and Elizabeth Thomas, at-large representative.

Chapter 302 was chartered on Nov. 28, 2007, and has inducted several hundred outstanding Murray State students into membership since then. The chapter seeks to recognize and encourage excellence in all academic disciplines and promote discussion of important issues across disciplinary lines.

Founded in 1897 and headquartered in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Phi Kappa Phi inducts annually approximately 32,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni. The Society has chapters at more than 300 select colleges and universities in North America and the Philippines.

Since its founding, more than 1.25 million members have been initiated. Some of the organization’s more notable members include former President Jimmy Carter, NASA astronaut Wendy Lawrence, novelist David Baldacci and YouTube cofounder Chad Hurley. The Society has awarded approximately $14 million since the inception of its awards program in 1932. Today, $1 million is awarded each biennium to qualifying students and members through graduate fellowships, undergraduate study abroad grants, member and chapter awards and grants for local and national literacy initiatives.

The Society’s motto is “Let the love of learning rule humanity.” For information on Chapter 302, contact chapter president, Dr. Bill Mulligan, or 270-809-6571.

Photo: New members of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi at Murray State University were inducted April 16.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email