MURRAY, Ky. — Dr. Stephen Lacewell, a Murray State University faculty member, was honored with the 2019 Distinguished Professor Award on April 4. Lacewell is a professor of finance at Murray State, where he has taught since 1999. Lacewell also serves as director of the University’s Center for Banking and Finance.

The Distinguished Professor Award is a student-nominated honor and was established in 1964 to recognize an outstanding faculty member who has had a profound and positive influence on students, both inside and outside of the classroom.

Lacewell was presented with the prestigious Golden Apple award in a surprise ceremony at the Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business led by University administration, including Murray State President Dr. Bob Jackson.

“This award is a huge honor, considering all of the fantastic faculty members here at Murray State University,” Lacewell said. “I tell my students constantly to find a profession they absolutely love, because it makes all other areas of their lives more enjoyable. I have been doing what I love for the last 20 years and have been blessed to work with some of the finest students anywhere right here in Murray, Kentucky.”

Jacie Trimm, a finance/commercial banking major, was one of the students that nominated Lacewell. She said his personalized approach to teaching made him an easy choice for the award.

“I felt Dr. Lacewell deserved this award after seeing all the behind-the-scenes work he does to get his students jobs after graduation,” Trimm said. “He brings in different speakers to give students insight on different career options while notifying them when a business is looking to hire. He cares for his students’ success and it shows.”

Lacewell created the area in finance with a commercial bank management option at the University in the spring of 2016 and additionally serves on the faculty of the Barret Graduate School of Banking, the Louisiana State University Graduate School of Banking and the Southeastern School of Banking.

He received his undergraduate degree in economics from the University of Tennessee at Martin, his MBA with a finance concentration from Murray State University and an M.S. in finance and a Ph.D. in finance with minors in economics and statistics from Mississippi State University. He has also taught classes and published research internationally.

Other honors Lacewell has received include the University’s Max Carman Outstanding Teacher Award, Sigma Phi Epsilon’s Professor of the Year, Alpha Phi Alpha Outstanding Faculty Award and much more.

“Dr. Lacewell epitomizes excellence in his professorial role,” said Dr. Tim Todd, dean of the Bauernfeind College of Business. “He engages students in his courses with real-world, applied examples in the banking and financial world. I’m proud to have him as a colleague and friend, and I thank the Murray State University Alumni Association for bestowing this high honor on Steve.”

Photo: Dr. Stephen Lacewell, a Murray State University faculty member, was honored with the 2019 Distinguished Professor Award on April 4. From left are Murray State University President Dr. Bob Jackson, Lacewell, Provost Dr. Mark Arant and Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business Dean Dr. Tim Todd.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email