MURRAY, Ky. — The Hutson School of Agriculture at Murray State recently honored high school students from the Purchase, Pennyrile and Green River regions as Murray State FFA All-Region Stars based on the students’ demonstrated leadership in Future Farmers of America (FFA).

A banquet recognizing the students was held Monday, Nov. 19, on Murray State’s campus. Several University officials were in attendance, including Murray State Interim President Bob Jackson, Provost Mark Arant, Vice President for Student Affairs Don Robertson and others. They joined more than 200 guests who attended the banquet.

“My FFA experience provided me a solid leadership background that has served me well throughout my career,” said Dr. Tony Brannon, dean of the Hutson School of Agriculture. “It is a pleasure to recognize outstanding young leaders pursuing these same experiences.”

FFA advisors at individual high schools could nominate two students for this recognition: one student as an automatic award recipient and another student as an at-large nomination (not all at-large nominees were selected for the award). FFA regional officers from Purchase, Pennyrile and select Green River region counties who applied were also selected for FFA All-Region Stars awards.

The honored FFA students attend a number of high schools in the region, including Ballard Memorial, Calloway County, Carlisle County, Fulton County, Graves County, Hickman County, Livingston Central, Marshall County, McCracken County and Trigg County in the Purchase region; Caldwell County, Christian County, Hopkins County Central, Hopkinsville, Lyon County, Madisonville North Hopkins and Muhlenberg County in the Pennyrile region; and Henderson County, McLean County and Webster County in the Green River region. Students from counties in the Green River region outside Murray State’s 18-county service area and border counties were not eligible.

Students recognized during the award ceremony include the following:

Purchase Region

—    Grace Boatright, Marshall County High School 

—    Hunter Bray, Ballard Memorial High School 

—    Abigail Calender, Livingston Central High School    

—    Ward Carter, Hickman County High School

—    Alex Cooper, Calloway County High School 

—    Zachary Dowdy, Carlisle County High School 

—    Laiken Ellegood, Carlisle County High School 

—    Jelynda Elliott, Fulton County High School

—    Ashlyn Gibson, McCracken County High School 

—    Alissa Gott, McCracken County High School 

—    Jack Howard, Livingston Central High School 

—    Jesse Howell, Graves County High School 

—    Sydney Leigh, Ballard Memorial High School 

—    Gabbie McLeod, McCracken County High School 

—    Ethan Nolcox, Trigg County High School

—    Emily Padon, Livingston Central High School 

—    Alexandria Riddle, Hickman County High School 

—    Hayden Rogers, Trigg County High School

—    Denise Sadler, Graves County High School 

—    Lucas Smith, Graves County High School 

—    Raelee Story, Marshall County High School 

—    Alyssa Trombetti, Calloway County High School 

—    Ashley Wyatt, Graves County High School 

Pennyrile Region

—    Keaton Bridges, Lyon County High School 

—    Haley Cornette, Muhlenberg County High School

—    Kaden Cummins, Caldwell County High School

—    Jacob Dickerson, Madisonville North Hopkins High School 

—    John Duvall, Crittenden County High School

—    Laney Farmer, Hopkins County Central High School 

—    Hannah Greenfield, Caldwell County High School 

—    Gracey Hancock, Christian County High School 

—    Braedon Hooke, Hopkins County Central High School 

—    David Jackson, Lyon County High School 

—    Lynzee Lacy, Christian County High School

—    Madison Mason, Caldwell County High School 

—    Macy Patton, Lyon County High School

—    Sarah Russ, Madisonville North Hopkins High School 

—    Hudson Taylor, Hopkinsville High School

—    Spencer Walker, Hopkinsville High School

Green River Region

—    Luke Badertscher, McLean County High School 

—    Nathaniel Blanford, Webster County High School 

—    Kate McIndoo, Henderson County High School

—    Mallory Robertson, McLean County High School 

—    Rylei Roy, Webster County High School

—    Shelby Shadrick, Webster County High School

The Hutson School of Agriculture created the awards program, which named its sixth crop of stars this year, as a way to acknowledge FFA students in Murray State’s service area for their accomplishments. FFA advisors are also recognized each year for their service to their students and the FFA organization.

J.T. Payne, president of Murray State’s Student Government Association, served as the guest speaker during the banquet. Payne is a presidential fellow, chair of the Kentucky State Board of Student Body Presidents, served as a congressional fellow with Congressman James Comer’s office and was named a 2015 Murray State FFA All-Region Star.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email