MURRAY, Ky. — Murray State University’s chapter of the Phi Kappa Phi honor society inducted 67 new members during a ceremony held April 17 in the Wrather Museum auditorium on campus.

Phi Kappa Phi is the highest academic honor society at Murray State. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students as well as the top 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify for membership.

New students members include the following individuals: Ariyike Alabi (Atlanta, Georgia), Moris Ayamba (Buea, Cameroon), Angela Binkley (Paris, Tennessee), Sydney Chambers (Murray, Kentucky), Jill Cochran (Murray, Kentucky), Logan Copeland (Paducah, Kentucky), Breeanna Cox (Spottsville, Kentucky), Kelly Dowdy (Mayfield, Kentucky), Kaitlyn Foster (Lewisburg, Kentucky), Christoph Freiherr Von Babo (Bretten, Germany), Rhea Gibson (Evansville, Indiana), Michael Gipson (Sturgis, Kentucky), Laura Hardy (Lexington, Kentucky), Allen Hester (Hopkinsville, Kentucky), Kami Hopf (Huntingburg, Indiana), Josephine Hubele (Carmi, Illinois), Rachel Huck (Goshen, Kentucky), Amanda Ijames (Murray, Kentucky), Madison Jernigan (Lewisburg, Kentucky), Nicole King (Hopkinsville, Kentucky), Dinesh Kumaraswamy (Bangalore, India), Hoan La (Hanoi, Vietnam), Michael Laterza (Bronx, New York), Myra Lawson (Albany, Kentucky), Jessica League (Fayetteville, Georgia), Sarah Locke (Benton, Kentucky), Cole Manion (Clarkson, Kentucky), Prachi Mankotia (New Delhi, India), Christina McGee (Vail, Arizona), Jesseca Melone (Paducah, Kentucky), Tanya Milam (Marion, Kentucky), Emily Monroe (Ledbetter, Kentucky), Terri Nance (Murray, Kentucky), Emeline Ojeda (Murray, Kentucky), Catherine O’Rourke (Paducah, Kentucky), Brent Parker (Chesapeake, Ohio), Joel Polarek (Dover, Tennessee), Anthony Prewitt (Martin, Tennessee), Jessica Ray (Melber, Kentucky), Abby Rock (Munfordville, Kentucky), Feruza Sakibaeva (Murray, Kentucky), Chanel Schwenck (Murray, Kentucky), Elizabeth Shaylor (Mayfield, Kentucky), Derek Shelton (Henderson, Kentucky), Ann Silverberg (Clarksville, Tennessee), George Sloan (Hopkinsville, Kentucky), Vanessa Smith (Benton, Kentucky), Christopher Stewart (Murray, Kentucky), Samantha Taylor (Murray, Kentucky), Hajo Terbrack (Rottenburg, Germany), Ashley Traylor (Helena, Alabama), Amber Turska (Barlow, Kentucky), Taylor Underwood (Hopkinsville, Kentucky), John Vaughan (Wildwood, Missouri), Adrienne Wagster (Jackson, Tennessee), Kaitlyn Watson (Marion, Illinois), Michelle Watson (Henderson, Kentucky), Sarah Watts (Mayfield, Kentucky), NancyAnn Webster (Louisville, Kentucky) and Kristin Williams (Mayfield, Kentucky).

New faculty and staff members who were inducted to the organization include Dr. Joy Humphreys, Dr. Robert Jackson, Sidney Martin, William McKeel, Mickey Miller, Dr. Miranda Terry and Robert Valentine.

Officers for the 2017–18 academic year were Dr. William H. Mulligan Jr., president; Dr. Melony Shemberger, vice president; Kenny Fister, treasurer; Elizabeth Dunn, Elana Stubbs and Kimaya Thakur, student vice presidents; and Dr. Renee Fister and Elizabeth Thomas, at-large representatives.

Chapter 302 of Phi Kappa Phi was chartered on Nov. 28, 2007, and has inducted several hundred outstanding Murray State students into membership since then. The chapter seeks to recognize and encourage excellence in all academic disciplines and promote discussion of important issues across disciplinary lines.

Founded in 1897 and headquartered in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Phi Kappa Phi annually inducts approximately 32,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni. The society has chapters at more than 300 select colleges and universities in North America and the Philippines.

Since its founding, more than 1.25 million members have been initiated. Some of the organization’s more notable members include former President Jimmy Carter, NASA astronaut Wendy Lawrence, novelist David Baldacci and YouTube co-founder Chad Hurley. The society has awarded approximately $14 million since the inception of its awards program in 1932. Today, $1 million is awarded each biennium to qualifying students and members through graduate fellowships, undergraduate study abroad grants, member and chapter awards and grants for local and national literacy initiatives.

The society’s motto is “Let the love of learning rule humanity.” For information on Chapter 302, contact chapter president, Dr. Bill Mulligan, at or 270-809-6571.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email