MURRAY, Ky. — Murray State University awarded a total of 16 incoming students with the prestigious Presidential Fellowship scholarship, which includes full tuition, housing and meals for up to four years at the University.

“I am pleased to welcome the 2018 Presidential Fellowship class to Murray State,” said Murray State President Bob Davies. “Each of the presidential fellows symbolizes our high academic standards and commitment to excellence. Their leadership and service, both on our campus as well as in our community, creates a lasting and measurable impact.”

The recipients, who represent seven states, will be part of the University’s Honors College, a community within Murray State that offers a unique honors curriculum, critical-thinking seminars and specialized programs and activities. The Honors College has shown significant growth and record-high enrollment each year since beginning in 2015.

“Our presidential fellows are all outstanding academic achievers, but they are also selected based on their demonstrated leadership potential and involvement in their communities,” said Dr. Warren Edminster, executive director of the Honors College.

Students selected for the Presidential Fellowship scholarship complete a rigorous multi-step application process that includes multiple in-person interviews and on-demand writing sessions. During their time at Murray State, recipients of the scholarship are responsible for conducting extensive research projects and serving as leaders in the campus community.

“Presidential fellows engage in undergraduate research under the guidance of a faculty mentor and frequently publish their work before leaving Murray State,” Edminster said. “Besides excelling in research, presidential fellows invariably take leadership roles in student groups, ranging from the Student Government Association to Greek organizations.”

Incoming Murray State students for fall 2018 who have received a Presidential Fellowship scholarship include the following individuals:

— Sunshine Coombs (Dover, Tennessee)

— Nicholas Fuson (Brandenburg, Kentucky)

— Nicholas Gaubatz (Fairview Heights, Illinois)

— Trevor Grant (Mayfield, Kentucky)

— Ashlen Grubbs (Hodgenville, Kentucky)

— Madison Hillberry (Elizabethtown, Kentucky)

— Merrick Johnson (Carlisle, Kentucky)

— Kiara Jones (Elizabethtown, Kentucky)

— Gabrielle Kennedy (Milwaukee, Wisconsin)

— Amy Krazl (St. Louis, Missouri)

— Delaney Shroat (Sterling Heights, Michigan)

— Grace Sinclair (Springfield, Illinois)

— Daniella Tebib (LaGrange, Kentucky)

— Evan Thomas (Avon Lake, Ohio)

— Jonna Woodson (Greenville, Kentucky)

— Mallory Wooldridge (Murray, Kentucky)

Incoming first-year students who have a 28 ACT composite score minimum (or 1250 SAT verbal and math combined score minimum), along with a 3.7 GPA on a 4.0 scale, are eligible to apply for the Presidential Fellowship scholarship. For more information on the University’s Honors College, please visit

Print Friendly, PDF & Email