MURRAY, Ky. — The 34th annual Harry M. Sparks Distinguished Lecture Series at Murray State University will take place Tuesday, May 1, from 5 to 7 p.m. in the Murray Room of the CFSB Center.

All members of the community are welcome to attend this free event hosted by the College of Education and Human Services. Those planning to attend are asked to RSVP using the contact information below by Tuesday, April 24.

This year’s featured speaker, Chief Brandon Barnhill of the Paducah Police Department, is anticipated to present on the topic of community policing. The event will begin with a panel discussion facilitated by Barnhill. Panel participants will include: Trooper Jody Cash, Kentucky State Police; Crime Analyst Michael Zidar, Paducah Police Department; School Resource Officer Brandon Gallimore, Calloway County Sheriff’s Office; and Officer Trista Colson, Murray Police Department.

The evening will also include a traditional fish-fry dinner and an awards presentation, during which the following honors and recipients are to be recognized:

— Harry M. Sparks Distinguished Lecturer Award: Chief Brandon Barnhill, Paducah Police Department

— Dr. Charles and Marlene Johnson Outstanding Education Faculty Award: Dr. Cindy Clemson, Murray State University College of Education and Human Services

— Innovation in Education Alumni Award: Ms. Samantha Tabor, Concord Elementary School

— Outstanding Educator Alumni Award: Mr. Scott Pile, Calloway County Middle School

— Innovation in Service Leadership Alumni Award: Mr. Ken Claud, Calloway County Jail

— Outstanding Service Leadership Alumni Award: Ms. Janeann Turner, Murray High School’s The Den Youth Service Center

This lecture series was established by the Murray State Board of Regents to honor Dr. Harry M. Sparks, who served as the fifth president of the University from January 1968 to September 1973. During his 43-year career in education, Sparks also held the titles of teacher, basketball coach, school principal, district superintendent, university professor, president of the Kentucky Education Association and superintendent of Public Instruction for the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

“Originally developed to honor the outstanding service of President Harry M. Sparks, this lecture series continues to bring together faculty, staff, students, alumni and community members for an evening of topical discussion, festivities and recognition,” said Dr. David Whaley, dean for the College of Education and Human Services. “We pride ourselves on following the legacy established by President Sparks to ensure that this event embraces a respectful evening of discourse and acknowledgement.”

To RSVP for the 2018 Harry M. Sparks Distinguished Lecture, please contact the dean’s office for the College of Education and Human Services at or 270-809-3817 by Tuesday, April 24.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email