MURRAY, Ky. — The Hutson School of Agriculture at Murray State University recently honored high school students from the Purchase, Pennyrile and Green River regions as Murray State FFA All-Region Stars based on the students’ demonstrated leadership in Future Farmers of America (FFA).

The banquet was held on Murray State’s campus Monday, Nov. 20, in honor of the recipients. Several University officials were in attendance, including Murray State President Bob Davies, Provost Mark Arant, Vice President for Student Affairs Don Robertson, Senior Presidential Advisor Renee Fister and others. They joined more than 200 guests who also attended the banquet.

FFA advisors at individual high schools could nominate two students for this recognition — one as an automatic award recipient and the other as an at-large nomination (not all at-large nominees were selected for the award). Purchase and Pennyrile FFA regional officers were also selected for FFA All-Region Stars awards.

The honored FFA students attend a number of high schools in the region, including Ballard Memorial, Calloway County, Fulton County, Graves County, Hickman County, Livingston Central, Marshall County, McCracken County and Trigg County in the Purchase region; Caldwell County, Hopkins County Central, Lyon County, Madisonville North Hopkins, Muhlenberg County and Todd County in the Pennyrile region; and Henderson and Webster County in the Green River region. Students from counties in the Green River region outside Murray State’s 18-county service area were not eligible.

Students recognized during the award ceremony include the following:

Purchase Region

  • Rianah Fields, Ballard Memorial High School
  • Hayden Roberts, Ballard Memorial High School
  • Landon Wicker, Ballard Memorial High School
  • Hannah Anderson, Calloway County High School
  • Avery Wilmurth, Calloway County High School
  • Daisy Major, Fulton County High School
  • Margaret Caroline Morrison, Fulton County High School
  • Keisha Beck, Graves County High School
  • Alexis Cherry, Graves County High School
  • Jarrod Mathis, Graves County High School
  • Jakob Stahr, Hickman County High School
  • Cheyanne Johnson, Livingston Central High School
  • Lauren Schmitt, Livingston Central High School
  • Kinsey Hamby, Marshall County High School
  • Dalton Pea, Marshall County High School
  • Hannah Ferrell, McCracken County High School
  • Cheyenne McKinney, McCracken County High School
  • Bailynn Peeler, McCracken County High School
  • Breanna Oliver, Trigg County High School
  • Grace Sink, Trigg County High School
  • Kaylin Smith, Trigg County High School


Pennyrile Region

  • Mackenzie Smiley, Caldwell County High School
  • Hannah York, Caldwell County High School
  • Paxton Gray, Hopkins County Central High School
  • DrewAnne Herring, Hopkins County Central High School
  • McKenzie Rodgers, Hopkins County Central High School
  • Cullan Brown, Lyon County High School
  • Hannah Knight, Lyon County High School
  • Max Wadlington, Lyon County High School
  • Kourtney Ashby, Madisonville North Hopkins High School
  • Emily Fischels, Madisonville North Hopkins High School
  • Kaitlyn Holloman, Madisonville North Hopkins High School
  • Harley Slaughter, Muhlenberg County High School
  • Jonna Woodson, Muhlenberg County High School
  • Alexandra Brooks, Todd County Central High School
  • James Van Frogue, Todd County Central High School
  • Megan Haley, Todd County Central High School


Green River Region

  • Kaitlin Green, Henderson County High School
  • Sylisa Mooney, Webster County High School
  • Caleb O’nan, Webster County High School
  • Walter Steely, Webster County High School


The Hutson School of Agriculture created the awards program, which named its fifth crop of Stars this year, as a way to acknowledge FFA students in Murray State’s service area for their accomplishments. FFA advisors are also recognized each year for their service to their students and the FFA organization.

“My FFA experience provided me a solid leadership background that has served me well throughout my career, and it is a pleasure to recognize outstanding young leaders pursuing the same experiences,” said Dr. Tony Brannon, dean of the Hutson School of Agriculture.

The guest speaker at the banquet was Kirby Green, a Murray State alumna and district sales manager for Monsanto, an agrochemical company. Green was also named the 2017 Murray State Hutson School of Agriculture Young Outstanding Alumna earlier this fall.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email