MURRAY, Ky. — Below is information regarding recent news, notes and accomplishments from Murray State University for the week of Sept. 11–15.


Faculty members from the department of chemistry at Murray State recently attended the American Chemical Society’s National Meeting in Washington, D.C., to present papers and posters to fellow conference attendees.

Murray State faculty members in attendance included Drs. Sebastian Jezowski, Bommanna Loganathan, Kevin Miller and Bikram Subedi. Both Loganathan and Subedi also chaired sessions and committees at the conference.

In preparation for the conference, the faculty members worked with several graduate and undergraduate students who ultimately co-authored in their presentations, including Abby Bratton, Paducah; Jill Cao, Tancheng County, China; Samantha Daymon, Elizabethtown, Illinois; Tony Polanko, Springfield, Tennessee; Kenneth B. Sullivan, Calvert City; Alex Thome, Murray; and Prasanthi Yerneni, Hyderabad, India. Dr. Harry Fannin, department chair, also assisted in co-authoring one of the projects.

Additionally, Jezowski, Subedi and Loganathan, along with a faculty member from the University of Tennessee, received three national awards on behalf of their local chapter, the Kentucky Lake Section of the American Chemical Society, for (1) Best National Chemistry Week Event Organized by a Student Group, (2) Outstanding Public Outreach Event Organized by a Student Group and (3) Outstanding Performance by a Local Section – Medium and Small Size Category.


Daffney Moore, ’97, will now lead the city of East St. Louis, Illinois, as city manager.

Moore has more than two decades of experience working in the field of urban growth, revitalization, housing and commercial development with the aim of addressing social and economic issues in minority communities.

“I am humbled and honored to be the city manager of East St. Louis,” Moore said in a press release. “My main goals are to provide quality services, encourage community involvement and bring economic development to the city.”

Moore is also a member of Murray State’s Alumni Association Board of Governors and is currently working to create a Black Alumni Affinity Council within the Alumni Association.


Lucas Prather, ’16, received the inaugural Quorum Scholar in Health Administration Award from the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). Prather is the first-ever recipient of a full-ride scholarship in the 51-year history of the Master of Science in Health Administration program at UAB.

“Where I am today is contributed to the opportunities and support I had at Murray State,” Prather said. “Murray State had a profound and positive influence on my life, both inside and outside the classroom.”


Dr. Eric James (Jim) Burton, MBA ’69, was conferred the designation of dean emeritus at Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU) in August.

Burton has served as a member of MTSU’s faculty for more than 27 years and held the title of longest-serving dean for MTSU’s College of Business, filling the role from 1999 to 2013. In addition to serving on several boards and in various leadership roles, Burton has published more than 50 articles, authored or co-authored five books and is an active consultant for senior executives of corporations.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email