MURRAY, Ky. — Members of the Murray State University community gathered at the Curris Center Ballroom Thursday evening, April 20, for the faculty recognition banquet.

The banquet was led by Dr. Renae Duncan, acting provost and vice president of Academic Affairs. She began the ceremony by welcoming attendees and special guests Mr. Robert Norsworthy, the Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business executive in residence, and Dr. Jesse D. Jones. Duncan said the turnout for the event was excellent.

The Distinguished Professor Award was presented to Dr. Jack Dressler, a professor emeritus of music in the College of Humanities and Fine Arts.

Dr. L. Murphy Smith was presented with the Distinguished Researcher Award. Dr. Smith joined Murray State University’s faculty in 2011 and is the Dill Distinguished Professor of Accounting.

Dr. Michael Flinn, an associate professor of biology in the Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology, was awarded the Distinguished Mentor Award. Flinn joined Murray State’s faculty in 2008.

Murray State President Bob Davies awarded Dr. William R. Jones with the Presidential Research Fellowship. Jones is an assistant professor of English and philosophy in the College of Humanities and Fine Arts who also joined the faculty in 2008.

“We have some of the best faculty in the country,” said Duncan. “Being able to recognize their efforts to provide the best education and educational experiences to our students as well as service to the University and community is a highlight of the year.”

Dale Leys, professor of art and design, was honored with a Faculty Service Award for working at Murray State for 40 years.

The Faculty Recognition Banquet was established in 2003 to honor the countless outstanding accomplishments of Murray State faculty.