from USA Shooting

Pat (Spurgin) PitneyMurray State Racer Great Pat (Spurgin) Pitney is set to be inducted into the USA Shooting Hall of Fame.
Spurgin, MSU’s 1984 Olympic gold medalist, will be induced (Sept. 21) in Colorado Springs, Colorado with Walter Walsh. The pair will be the 26th and 27th members of the USA Shooting Hall of Fame. The hall of fame inducts a class every four years and was started in 1991. Spurgin goes into the USA Shooting Hall of Fame with Walsh, who is 106 years old and is the oldest Olympian ever.
Spurgin competed for the Racers from 1984-87 and was inducted into the Murray State Hall of Fame in 1993.
She was an eight-time First Team All-America in rifle and set an NCAA Championship record as a senior in 1987, leading MSU to its most recent team title. She was also part of MSU’s 1985 national championship team. She was the 1984 Ohio Valley Conference Female Athlete of the Year and won the Olympic gold medal the same year. Spurgin was the first woman to win a gold in Olympic rifle. 
The home of Murray State Rifle bears her name, the Pat Spurgin Rifle Range, located on the second floor of Roy Stewart Stadium.
Pat and her husband Randy Pitney reside in Fairbanks, Alaska. They have three grown children. Pat has worked at the University of Alaska-Fairbanks for 22 years and is the Vice Chancellor for Administration.
“Being inducted to the Shooting Hall of Fame is a real honor,” she told “Compared to many of my peers and almost every other person in the hall of fame, my shooting career was short lived. It was a great privilege to be part of the USA Shooting team and to represent the shooting sports in my hometown of Billings, Mont., Murray State University and the United States.”    
The complete USA Shooting Hall of Fame release can be found by clicking on this link.
USA Shooting Hall of Fame 
1991 – Gary L. Anderson; Lones W. Wigger, Jr.; Alfred P. Lane (pre-1948); Morris Fisher (pre-1948)
1992 – Margaret Thompson Murdock
1993 – Huelet (Joe) Benner; Walter Stokes (pre-1948)
1994 – William McMillan; Carl Osburn (pre-1948)
1995 – John H. Writer; Lawrence Nuesslein (pre-1948); Thomas Sharpe (Official)
1996 – John R. Foster; William C. Pullum (Official)
1998 – Lanny R. Bassham
1999 – Arthur C. Jackson
2000 – Matt Dryke
2001 – Arthur Cook
2002 – Tommy G. Pool
2004 – Launi Meili; Joseph B. Berry (Official)
2008 – Daniel Carlisle; Ruby Fox
2013 – Pat (Spurgin) Pitney; Walter Walsh

Print Friendly, PDF & Email