MSU RacersEighty-five Murray State student-athletes have been honored by the Ohio Valley Conference for their academic performance during the 2013-14 academic year, the league announced on Thursday. This season, 21 Murray State student-athletes received the OVC Medal of Honor, up one from 2012-13, and 85 received the Commissioner’s Honor Roll.

In total, 188 Ohio Valley Conference student-athletes received the Medal of Honor for the 2013-14 season. The Medal of Honor is given annually to the student-athlete who achieves the highest grade point average in a conference-sponsored sport. Every Medal of Honor recipient carried a perfect 4.0 grade point average during the year.

This year’s Medal of Honor winners from Murray State were Antonia Niebler (women’s basketball); Neil Yockey (men’s cross country); Carson Beyer (football); Preston French and Jordan Smith (men’s golf); Sophie Hillier and Delaney Howson (women’s golf); Ryan Limpus (rifle); Kayla Harbin, Julie Mooney, Sonja Murphy and Halle Pinkham (soccer); Alexa Becker, Leslie Bridges and CheyAnne Gaskey (softball); Suzaan Stoltz, Eleonore Tchakarova and Verginie Tchakarova (women’s tennis); Chleo LeGrand (women’s track and field); Katlyn Hudson and Scottie Ingram (volleyball).

The OVC also announced that 1,254 student-athletes were named to the 2013-14 OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll. The 1,254 student-athletes surpassed the old record of 1,228 set a season ago. To be listed, recipients must have achieved at least a 3.25 grade point average and have been eligible and on the team throughout the competitive season in their chosen NCAA-sponsored sport(s) and used a season of competition. At least one student-athlete from each of the 15 MSU varsity sports was honored with the distinction this season.

2013-14 Murray State OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll Honorees

Baseball (9)
Anthony Bayus
Kyle Cornett
Brock Downey
Clay Fuson
John Lollar
Taylor Mathews
Tyler Saltsman
Ty Stetson
Cameron Wallace

Men’s Basketball (2)
Jeff Martin
Jarvis Williams

Women’s Basketball (5)
Nikia Edom
Chanyere Hosey
Keiona Kirby
Antonia Niebler
Janssen Starks

Men’s Cross Country (3)
Jarred Koerner
Lucas Prather
Neil Yockey

Women’s Cross Country (6)
Brittany Bohn*
Emily Evans*
Heatherly Paschall*
Kimmy Siebert*
Carolyne Tanui*
Jacquelyn Thate*
*Also honored for Women’s Track & Field

Football (8)
Carson Beyer
Felton Collins
Perry Cooper
Parks Frazier
Drew Kelley
Zach Littlefield
Ayo Ojolola
Blake Salter

Men’s Golf (3)
Preston French
Brock Simmons
Jordan Simmons

Women’s Golf (6)
Sophie Hillier
Delaney Howson
Leah Rose Judd
Gina Nuzzo
Sydney Trimble
Jacklyn VanMeter

Rifle (3)
Hannah Harris
Tessa Howald
Ryan Limpus

Women’s Soccer (12)
Racheal Foxley
Kayla Harbin
Megg Hudson
Bronagh Kerins
Natasha Merritt
Julie Mooney
Sonja Murphy
Halle Pinkham
Taylor Richerson
Taylor Stevens
Shauna Wicker
Lyssie Wright

Softball (10)
Alexa Becker
Leslie Bridges
CheyAnne Gaskey
Morgan Harrell
Erica Howard
Cayla Levins
Mallory Richardson
Mason Robinson
Jessica Twaddle
Mallory Young

Men’s Tennis (2)
Nicholas Mitric
Adam Taylor

Women’s Tennis (5)
Andrea Eskauriatza
Erin Patton
Suzaan Stoltz
Eleonore Tchakarova
Verginie Tchakarova

Women’s Track and Field (6)
Taylor Adcock
Ashley Conway
Jill Jachino
Chleo LeGrand
Hannah McAllister
Lauren Miller

Volleyball (5)
Katlyn Hudson
Scottie Ingram
Eleanor Lorenz
Emily Schmahl
Hannah Stultz



Print Friendly, PDF & Email