A group of Murray State University science faculty and student researchers participated in the 2011 meeting of the Kentucky Academy of Science (KAS). More than 600 students and faculty from across the state attended the meeting, which was held on Murray State’s campus this fall semester.

The 97th annual meeting provided a venue for Kentucky’s best scientists and science students to publicly present their research. Undergraduate and graduate students were eligible to enter research competitions. Winners of the competitions were announced at the KAS Banquet. Murray State University winners included:


• Agricultural Sciences – Katie LeBlanc, posters/first place

• Botany – Brandy N. Bradford, third place

• Cell and Molecular Biology – Mark Althoff, second place

• Chemistry – Sijin Ren, third place

• Engineering – Kyle Frye, third place

• Geology – Brett Wiggins, second place

• Mathematics – Bryce Norris, first place

• Microbiology – Mara Varvil, second place

• Physiology and Biochemistry – Shelby Blalock, posters/first place, and Laura Francisco, posters/first place


• Agricultural Sciences – Xiaojing Liu, second place

• Cell and Molecular Biology – Hannah Flood, second place

• Ecology and Environmental Science – Coy St. Clair, first place, and Nissa Rudh, third place

• Geology – Matthew Ryan Prusinski, first place

• Microbiology – Juanita Von Dwingelo, first place, and Emily D’Angelo, second place

• Physiology and Biochemistry – Lynsey Bochenek, third place

The Kentucky Academy of Science was established in 1914. For more information about KAS, visit its website at www.kyscience.org.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email