Click here for complete schedule of events and instructions to graduates

Murray State University’s December 2011 Commencement ceremony will be held at 10 a.m. on Saturday, Dec. 10, in the CFSB Center, and will begin with the Presentation of Colors by the NJRTC Color Guard of Paducah Tilghman High School.

The Processional will feature “Procession of the Nobles” and the traditional “Pomp and Circumstance.”

The Mace Bearer is Dr. Ricky Cox, the MSU Distinguished Professor and the Max Carman Professor, and a faculty member and interim chair in the department of chemistry.

Becky Mosbacher, the Outstanding Senior for the Winter 2011 graduation, will lead in candidates for degrees. Mosbacher, who majored in agribusiness, will deliver the valediction. Mosbacher is the daughter of Steven and Doris Mosbacher of Waterloo, Ill.

Dr. Randy J. Dunn, MSU president, will preside over the ceremony. Nearly 850 undergraduate and graduate students are December degree candidates. August degree candidates number 300. Both December and August degree candidates can participate in the December Commencement celebration.

Music for Commencement will be provided by the MSU Symphonic Wind Ensemble, under the direction of Dennis L. Johnson of MSU’s department of music, and the MSU Concert Choir, directed by Bradley L. Almquist, also in the department of music.

Faculty Marshals are Richard Dougherty, Michael Kemp, Dwayne Driskill, David Kraemer, David Fender, Robert Lyons and Ginny Richerson.

Also participating in the faculty march are the recipients of The Regents Teaching Awards for Excellence — Leigh Johnson, Barbara Washington, Tracey Wortham, David Pizzo, Saihua Xia, James Hereford and Edmund Zimmerer. They will be joined by Distinguished Faculty Researcher Robert Martin, University Distinguished Mentor Iin Handayani, University Emerging Scholar Juyoung Song and Faculty Adviser of the Year John Dressler.

Candidates for graduation are asked to be at the CFSB Center, Lower Level Gate A, at 9 a.m. to line up for the ceremony. Also, an official photograph of each graduate and a graduation DVD will both be available for purchase.

Stage decorations are being provided by the MSU Horticulture Club, Pat Williams, adviser.

Ample general guest parking is available in the Stewart Stadium parking lot, east of the CFSB Center, off of Hwy. 641. Shuttle busses are available to transport guests from the parking lot to the front doors of the CFSB Center beginning at 8 a.m. Busses are also available until 1:30 p.m. to transport guests from the CFSB Center back to the parking lot.

Seating in the arena is reserved for guests with limited mobility. Limited mobility guests may have two additional guests sit with them. Special seating areas will also be located on each side of the arena. Ushers will be available to assist with seating.

Guests with disabilities who require special assistance should note the parking lot located off of Gilbert Graves Drive is available for a drop-off zone. A handicapped parking tag or special permission will be required to park in that location.

More information for graduating students and guests with special needs can be found online at Special requests regarding disabilities may be directed to the Office of Equal Opportunity at (270) 809-3155, or the CFSB Center at (270) 809-5577 or TDD (270) 809-3361.

The event will be streamed online for those who can’t attend at

Print Friendly, PDF & Email