The Murray State men’s golf team hosts the eighth annual MSU Invitational Monday and Tuesday at Miller Memorial Golf Course in Murray, Ky.

The Racers have won all seven previous events including last season when they carded an 860 and won by six shots over Belmont.

MSU golfers have also won the last two medalist titles which are the only individual titles for the Racers in the history of the event. William Hunt won in 2010 with scores of 71-72-69=212. Nick Newcomb was MSU’s first champion in 2009.

Along with MSU, 11 additional teams make up the field including four from the Ohio Valley Conference in Morehead State, UT Martin, Tennessee State and Tennessee Tech. The rest of the field is made up by: Belmont, Brescia, Kentucky Wesleyan, Lewis, Lipscomb, Missouri Baptist and Union (TN).

The tournament team and individual records were both set in 2005. The team score of 832 came from Murray State and the individual record of 197 came from Scott Stallings of Tennessee Tech.

The MSU Invitational is played at the home of Racer Golf, Miller Memorial GC and calls for 36-holes of stroke play Monday with the final 18 holes to come Tuesday. The shotgun start begins at 8:30 a.m. Monday and 9 a.m. Tuesday. The course will play to a par of 71 and 6,592 yards.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email