Murray State University’s civil and construction engineering technology programs recently received full and complete reaccreditations from the Technology Accreditation Commission of ABET.

ABET, established in 1932, is an international institute specializing in the review and awarding process of engineering programs of universities across the globe. Currently, ABET accredits over 3,100 programs worldwide.

Accreditation assures that a program has met quality standards set by the profession. To employers, graduate schools, and licensure, certification and registration boards, graduation from an accredited program signifies adequate preparation for entry into the profession. In fact, many of these groups require graduation from an accredited program as a minimum qualification.

“It’s a source of pride for us here,” Dr. Stephen Cobb, dean of the college of science, engineering and technology at MSU, noted.

“We were found to be without any shortcomings or concern,” Cobb said. “To be recognized to such a degree by an organization like ABET is truly outstanding, and I congratulate Dr. Claiborne and his faculty and staff for their hard work.”

Dr. Danny Claiborne is chair of the department of industrial and engineering technology at Murray State. Agreeing that it is an honor to achieve ABET reaccreditation, Claiborne said, “The six-year accreditation process is a great deal of work and commitment from the faculty and administration; however, it does demonstrate to our industry and the profession the high standards which we attempt to maintain.”

For information on Murray State’s engineering technology programs go online at or call (270) 809-3392

Print Friendly, PDF & Email